A shimmering wall of sequin’s to compare WinRT XAML & Silverlight 5


image

Let’s get a bit creative this week.

I have this vision in my head of a wall of glittering sequin’s, you know what a sequin is right?! like what was big in the ‘disco’ era, and still is big today ?!..

image

For this post I want to start out simple and create a basic shimmering wall of sequins Smile , nothing too complex!

My ulterior motive for doing this is to compare , what I’m guessing will be, GPU/CPU intensive animations between Silverlight 5 & WinRT XAML.

SILVERLIGHT 5 Approach

Let’s first do this in Silverlight …

STEP 1 : create a ‘sequin’ control.

Starting with Blend I visually drag a couple of ellipses and a rectangle for the background. And to add interaction there’s a “Storyboard”

4

There are basically 3 UI elements in the visual tree for an individual sequin. The storyboard gives the sequin it’s glitter effect.

1

2

3

NOTE : It’s important to point out that this process was a 100% visual task. With a “designer” hat on I would tweak gradients, pixel position vectors, add new visual elements as I saw fit. If I were in a different mood I may have made 6 UIElements, or maybe 12 , it all depends on my mood and how detailed I wanted to go. I’ll come back to this point later !!! ….

Step 2 : Create a wall of sequin’s

Taking the sequin control from above I layout hundreds of these elements to form a wall. To this was simple, I created new control “scr_Board” and used the “WrapPanel” layout control to wrap hundreds of these ‘sequin’ controls. I did the creation of the sequin’s in code and it’s not clean code, this is a demo after all Smile 

5

6

I did say that the code was not very pretty right Smile .. Yes that is me calling into the sequin control from the board control setting & starting the storyboard animations for the sequin.. … I don’t recommended you do this in your projects, i’ve done it to make a point that I will come back to later in this post!!

So I’m creating 2584 sequin instances and loading those in the WrapPanel then starting the storyboard animation to initiate the glitter like effect for each sequin.

Also in the code you see me setting storyboard parameters with random values, that gives the random glitter effect..

Below is a quick video clip of the Silverlight 5 demo running.

 

Step 3 : Performance Tune the xaml

The hardest part of building solutions is tuning it for performance. And for something that is visually rich and uses a lot of animations you NEED to do A LOT of tuning.

There are 2514 sequin’s controls that are all animating individually. And this is a very simple demo. This is how this non-optimized solution performs. That’s around 74% CPU , 115MB Memory Consumed

11

Now let’s start playing with CacheMode, dictating to the GPU what surfaces to combine etc. So setting it at the root of the sequin visual tree, this is the performance improvement we get… That’s around 51% CPU , 156MB Memory Consumed

7

Because the visual tree for a sequin is very simple, 4 elements in all, I’m going to go ahead and set CacheMode on each and show you the results..

8

9

10

I normally wouldn’t’ go through every permutation of visual element and set the CacheMode on them…

The process I take is go through the visual tree and work out what makes sense to combine as a surface on the GPU and set the CacheMode on those. It may require me to tweak the visual tree by moving elements around and/or removing non-necessary ones. Also bare in mind if particular visual elements are involved in animations and are often changed then they probably don’t qualify to be cached.

This goes back to what I said earlier around how the UI was created by a designer like person using a visual tool like cider or blend. It’s easy to create very deep visual trees BUT as we can see above if we want a very performant application we need to take care with the design of the visual tree, OR spend time refactoring it before deploy.

So the best we can get is around 48% CPU with 160Mb MEM footprint. I won’t argue with you that 48% is terrible …. There’s more we can do to bring that down especially with how we animate and call storyboards, or our actual design of the storyboards.. The ultimate solution would be to go with “immediate mode” rendering using the XNA API Smile … I will definitely do this in a future POST!!!

 

WinRT XAML Approach

Let’s now take the Silverlight app and port it to WinRT XAML …

STEP 1 : create a ‘sequin’ control.

Taking the SL5 seqin control to WinRT I discover that there was no “RadialGradientBrush”.

I tried creating my own “RadialGradientBrush”, extending the ‘GradientBrush’, BUT I kept getting XAMLTypeInfo COM exception errors when I tried referencing my custom class in xaml …

image

I believe the issue is related to this reported bug by Andy Beaulieu – “XamlTypeInfo.g.cs Generation Error

In the end I had to settle for a “LinearGradientBrush”, ill revisit this when Beta arrives .

Step 2 : create a wall of sequins

There is no WrapPanel in WinRT so I took a Silverlight one and directly ported it over. Worked first go, nice and easy. I found the code on CodeProject .

image

Another issue I found was that ‘x:name=[name]’ elements in a control were no longer accessible from a parent control because the logic around ‘Protection levels’ has changed. eg. My sequin controls that had Storyboards and DoubleKeyAnimations defined could no longer be set/called from the parent. This is a great thing in my opinion Smile

image 

 

Another issue that arose was around DependencyProperties.Register() and it takes strings rather than types. This has been fixed and hopefully we’ll get these changes in beta very soon! (below is a screen shot of the issue I just mentioned above around DependencyProperty)

image

So here ‘s a quick video of the SL5 app converted to WinRT XAML with the few changes mentioned above.

What you’ll notice is that there appears to be a long pause on the black screen after the splash screen loads, that’s when the 2584 sequins are being dynamically created, initialized and added to the WrapPanel. I need to investigate this, as I mentioned this was just a simple port over from SL5 to WinRT XAML.

Also what’s not clear from the video is how buttery smooth the xaml metro app runs as you move between other metro apps and desktop. It is infinitely smoother than the Silverlight app running with other desktop apps, I can definitely say that the GPU acceleration of metro style apps is having a positive impact on performance Smile

 

Another annoying issue that popped up is whenever I closed the app and killed it manually, there would always be an orphaned process created. There are so many of these weird issues popping up in this developer preview of Win8, and as a developer you will see a serious amount of these!

image

 

Another issue that popped up is that sometimes the app process would stay in the “Background Processes” section of the Task Manager and sometimes it would correctly appear in the “Applications” section.

 

Step 3 : Performance tuning

WinRT XAML also has CacheMode, you can set UIElement’s to be “HardwareBitmapCached” or “SoftwareBitmapCached”

Without any tweaking the CPU usage is at around 45% and the Memory around 130MB.

image

With tweaking I can get the CPU down to 30-35% and Memory to around 105MB

image

I know that that’s still a lot of % CPU , and I doubt the Windows Store would let any app that behaved as such BUT in my eyes that is brilliant that it can get to 30 in the first place. There is a lot of CPU draining code in there, and as I mentioned previously this type of animation is screaming to be done using a retained mode solution, XNA/DirectX …. Hopefully we’ll get that in Beta Smile

What is a worry is that when the metro app is pushed to the background, it’s still running & consuming resources excessively. It appears that I the APP maker would need to detect this move to the background and carry out my own code to stop my app . It makes sense that I would need to do this HOWEVER a very small part of me would have wished that maybe MS could have added performance tuning smarts around storyboards and stopped running ones when a metro app goes into the background Smile.  That’s why I chose to put all animations in storyboards because technically they lend themselves to being better tooled, tweaked, analyzed & orchestrated etc. by the CLR and or the OS . I hopped that the platform could do smart things to them at the appropriate time, BUT I thought wrong! (picture below is the metro glittering sequins demo app running in background for over 15 minutes)

image

Another very interesting issue that came up with WinRT compared to Silverlight is that animations seemed to run so much faster in WinRT. I had to slow things down just to get comparable glittering

image

 

Conclusion:

You can definitely achieve great results with Silverlight 5 if you take care with your visual tree and know how to optimize and use the provided tooling to debug/trace  performance issues.

BUT WinRT definitely is showing signs of being an amazing GPU Accelerated framework that let’s you achieve levels of performance greater than anything Silverlight can offer today. And that’s not to say that Silverlight is bad, it’s all about using the right technology for the job.

If I were to build a client solution  I would do this using an immediate mode approach, XNA or DirectX. Hopefully I’ll do just that in a future post Smile

 

image

image

 

Let’s end with the glittering sequins again .. this is it again in WinRT ( I should point out that the UX definitely suffers because it’s using a LinearGradientBrush instead of a Radial one, yes those things make a huge difference Smile. And it’s so much smoother when running as the video I took dropped frames hence the glittering is very jittery )

 

From now on all my future post’s will have an element of creativity in them, I have to get back to my roots Smile

 

[UPDATED – 22nd January 2012]

As some of you have rightly pointed out, the code changed in the Win8 WinRT XAML version for the sequin, i.e. using a “LinearGradientBrush” instead of a “RadialGradientBrush”, will have an impact on performance in the Silverlight version. This is definitely true and i have run a simple test to see what difference this makes …. The improvement was around 2-4% reduction in CPU BUT the MEMORY pretty much stayed the same.

When I removed a whole “Ellipse” from the visual tree this reduced the MEMORY footprint by around 30-40MB .

Where Windows 8 WinRT-XAML definitely out performs sis when you are moving between apps and windows, it’s seriously buttery smooth. Smile

All eyes are now on Windows 8 Beta

31 responses to “A shimmering wall of sequin’s to compare WinRT XAML & Silverlight 5

  1. Pingback: A shimmering wall of sequin’s to compare WinRT XAML & Silverlight 5 | Silverlight and other cool things …

  2. nice post and very interesting

  3. Hey, nice benchmark!
    A single comment : Could you repeat the SL5 test with the use of LinearGradient to achieve comparable results?

  4. Great Idea flata, I’ll do that and update this post with results..

  5. Pingback: A shimmering wall of sequin’s to compare WinRT XAML & Silverlight 5

  6. Pingback: WindowsDevNews.com

  7. Nice post, good read!

    But as flata said it would be better ( fair ) to see both using LinearGradient. I don’t know why ( and I might be terribly wrong ) but I’ve always been under the impression that RadialGradient is much more costly than LinearGradient.

  8. I quickly reran the SL version using a lineargradientbrush and removing an ellipse and YEP as expected we had reduced CPU and reduced MEMORY FOOTPRINT.

    It was definetely getting closer to the Win8 levels BUT Win8 was still very buttery smooth when you moved between open windows and did work in other windows.

  9. Pingback: A shimmering wall of sequin’s to compare WinRT XAML & Silverlight 5 :: Learning

  10. You would normally do performance-intensive rendering like this in code using a WriteableBitmap or DrawingVisuals (WPF only). Not XAML.

    • Theres no question that delivering this intensive UX would best be done in WriteableBitmap, xna DrawingSurface, d2d/d3d BUT I thought it would be fun doing it in XAML, it was damn easy to create. Achieving something similar in Bitmap or DrawingSurface would be definetely take much longer.. And I will in time do this same UX in XNA/D2D/D3D , i just need to find the time.

  11. Pingback: Impressions of Windows 8 Part 1 of 2 | Xyzzer's Dev Blog

  12. Pingback: جلب الحبيب

  13. Great article and very good helpful information I like it I am a blogger so I can imagine that how much effort did you put in this, thanks buddy keep up the good work

  14. Top-notch article on A shimmering wall of sequin’s to compare WinRT XAML & Silverlight 5 | Silverlight and other cool things …..
    It is without doubt among the best that Ive found in a very long time.

  15. Problem is that many medical professionals will tell you that you need to have surgery or use their medications to manage your hemorrhoids.

  16. Stir the mixture quickly using a whisk or large fork until all ingredients are
    blended together well. True, you run the risk of contamination there
    as well. It looks like a mysterious and interesting hotel
    in the wide beautiful garden.

  17. And so we find the stories out of Iran happen to be true and not the work of some “Axis of Evil” fear-mongerer that simply wishes
    to extoll the horrors of Iran’s emerging nuclear energy program.

    The methionine allele has been found to increase the risk of obesity.
    According to this law the alleles of different genes
    assort independently.

  18. Look at the table; understand the different triangles you can form from the cue ball, through the object ball, and
    to the destination. -You have the option to move the cue ball anywhere along the head-string.
    Lets you use core, stabilizing muscles to balance your body
    weight in a familiar cycling position.

  19. I really like what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the very good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to our blogroll.

  20. Useful info. Fortunate me I discovered your site accidentally, and I’m
    shocked why this coincidence didn’t happened in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  21. Because the admin of this web page is working, no hesitation very soon it will be well-known, due to its quality contents.

  22. Thsre wass no material rewaard for the player submitting the
    high score, but when you’re dealing with a developer as fixated
    on mechanical perfection as Nintendo an outcome like this isn’t
    terrjbly surprising. Ever wanted to all of those hard and tedious tasks
    legit. – Brains are necessary to unlock zpmbies and features.

  23. Leaves hack, ensure that your animals dont go without food.
    Very easy Bucks hack to employ whenever yiur penniless.
    Here are some good ways to mqke money: Purchase a Monkey for
    2640 coins, feed it twice, and then sell the full grown Monnkey for 4400 coins.

  24. Hurrah, that’s what I was seeking for, what a data! present here at
    this web site, thanks admin of this site.

  25. Like the Whalers Joe Gaynor, Skellett is an overage playing in his fifth season in the OHL.
    Since there were rocky falls half a mile downstream, these “jaunts” were very risky for both parties.
    First obviously you have to download Kings Road Hack from
    our and operate Kings Road Hack T00l.

  26. Entertainment might masquerade under the guise of being educationally
    worthwhile, or intellectually stimulating. Take it easy,
    settle-back and gasp as i show the abundant tapestries involving Commitment Wars Crack
    Agreement Battles Generator. Is redundancy inherently detrimental to
    a financial system.

  27. What he could not accomplish–the element he could
    not defeat– he resigned himself to document, so that future generations might take heed.

    Golden Sun: Dark Dawn is a role-playing game for the Nintendo DS
    developed by Camelot Software Planning. Bob the Builder:
    The LIVE Show (2004)Bob the Builder and his friends are back,
    this time in a live show filmed before an enthusiastic audience of preschoolers in London’s Wembley Arena.

  28. Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I am inspired!
    Very helpful info specially the closing phase🙂 I take care of such information a lot.
    I was looking for this certain info for a very lengthy time.
    Thanks and good luck.

  29. Dalam cinta ketika ada yang berbeda jangan mencari siapa yang salah karena kamu dan dia adalah tim yang sama dengan tujuan yang sama

Leave a Reply

