My "Digg Mashup" that taught me so much about Silverlight 2.0 beta – part 1


The mashup began by me wanting to write a feed reader type of application end-to-end with Silverlight. Basically I wanted to really see if Silverlight could handle a real RIA scenario.

I wanted to utilize a lot of features in Silverlight that I knew would be required for any type of business RIA. I also wanted to go wild with the UI and test out just how flexible XAML was.

Here is a screen shot of my DIGG mashup! (The rest of this post is at my Cynergy blog)

Β 

Β 

22 responses to “My "Digg Mashup" that taught me so much about Silverlight 2.0 beta – part 1

  1. that is one sick mashup!

    Love it, love it, love it!

  2. That is seriously cool. I’m really loving what your doing with Silverlight, you should create videos or have your own podcast/vodcast series.

  3. Great mashup. Really like the whole experience!

  4. Jose, my friend, another great one… Thanks!

    Hey, could you please make your writeup text on the Cynergy blog to be “Black” color rather than “Gray” color. It’s killing my eyes. On your blog the color is fine, but over there, needs more color.

    Thanks!

  5. Ok, I wrote my first comment after watching the app. Now I’m writing after reading the blog.πŸ™‚

    Jose, it’s very nice that you pointed out how you went out of your way to separate the “designer” territory from “developer” territory. Just having a tutorial done is one thing, but learning a design lesson from it is something else. So I figure I come back and write again to tell you your points were well taken.

    As far as the initial “splash” screen goes, I read somewhere that it was more complicated than it seems. I can’t remember where I saw it.
    I’ll wait for the second part to dig into code.

    Thanks Buddy!

  6. woah, you sure are outdoing yourself jose, this is quite a cool mashup. so cool that it is better than a lot from the stuff in the common silverlight.net app galleries.

    congrats man. i dig itπŸ˜‰

  7. thanks guys, it’s clear now then several months ago just how much power the designer will yield in the NEW WORLD of software development.

    Gonna be a big discussion point in my next post actually. πŸ™‚

  8. i guess that what the whole devigner comes from. you havent seen the silverlight rehab video?

    http://adamkinney.com/blog/321/default.aspx

  9. >>http://adamkinney.com/blog/321/default.aspx<&lt;

    Nick, in that video, needs to take care of his wife at home, because his wife sounds kind of “Frustrated”πŸ™‚

  10. @Ben Hayat:

    Yeah, and Adam is not only a Silverlight addict in it but also a home wrecker.πŸ˜› hahaha

  11. Pingback: WPF Dev - Silverlight feed reader for Digg

  12. Jose, I was trying to leave a comment/question on part 2, but it was not posted here, so here we are:

    Your points about “User Controls” are well taken and I’ve been thinking about their organizations as well. Two questions:
    a) Could you post a few screen shots of a few UCs just for sake of demonstration of how far you might go to break them down or group them together? I think a few pics will help to see.
    b) I’ve been trying to figure out (and no successes yet) how I can place a series of UC in one DLL, but load it on demand and use the UC when needed, rather loading all DLLs up front. Have you started doing this? If yes, can you give us a write up please?
    Thanks!

  13. Hi Ben,

    Just for you I’ll write something up this weekend demonstrating (a) and (b). I haven’t as of yet played with the “download as needed” architecture of Silverlight BUT definetely will do this for the write up.

    Stay tuned for that (if it’s not this weekend it will be early next week, got so much going on right nowπŸ™‚ )

  14. It’s not rush on the second part, but a few pics of UC would clear up your points. You’re my Hero!πŸ™‚

    ..Ben

  15. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. πŸ™‚ Cheers! Sandra. R.

  16. Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! aeqmv and 3745kmpvwatwur and 1530 : I love your blog. πŸ™‚ I just came across your blog.

  17. seo services in delhi

    I’m really loving what your doing with Silverlight, you should create videos or have your own podcast/vodcast series.

  18. Hello there, simply was aware of your weblog via Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I will be grateful when you proceed this in future. A lot of people will likely be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  19. Obtaining all-natural lights, in house vegetation along with incandescent stays is additionally really good.

  20. If some one needs expert view concerning running a blog after that i propose him/her to visit
    this website, Keep up the nice work.

  21. I know this website presents quality based articles or reviews and additional stuff, is there any other site which presents such information in quality?

Leave a Reply

