Buzzword – what a cool "Flash" web application


subheading 3 

In a previous post I mentioned a cool flash application by the name of “Buzzword“. It is a killer web processor application that I’ve fallen in love with.

I use it everyday for storing and editing my documents. I’ll even go as far as to say that for most of the documents I create and edit on a daily basis I’ll use Buzzword in preference to MSOffice Word 2007.

Buzzword is only in preview but it behaves like an application ready for prime time. See some of the beautiful screen’s from buzzword below.

[Buzzword Login screen] – Buzzword if anything is a cleanly designed very aesthetically pleasing application. It’s fully flash and behaves beautifully to the touch. You can tell that a lot of effort went into the design process for the UX.

[Your documents sitting on your desktop] – The desktop shows all the documents that you have access to. It really is beautifully designed from a functional perspective. And the different views of the listings of documents is just “eye-candy bliss”. I love the desktop and I love the experience it conveys.

[Document opened and ready for editing] – the document editor is a masterpiece comparing it to other online text editors. Technically I have no idea how they did it but I can tell you that the overall aesthetics of the editor is perfecto! It behaves so beautifully when editing, as if you were using office’s word desktop application.

Microsoft you better stand up and take notice of buzzword because I truly believe this application could dethrone you in the mom/pop/teen word processing market! I can only imagine what buzzword will be like when it is made to work in FLEX/AIR and is marketed by Adobe.

So why did I blog about this application? I believe that this application will, in time, become a benchmark for all future web applications. It will be what others will be measured against. It really is a beautifully designed, at all levels, application that just makes sense!

I want to make a SilverLight version of this!

Over the next couple of weeks I’ll attempt to replicate this cool application in SilverLight, starting with a prototype of it. I’ll call this project “Silverword”

Stay tuned for my next post which will go through my prototype sample.

Update: DannyT correctly pointed out that Buzzword is actuall a FLEX application already, here i thought it was purely flash. That actually makes sense seeing how it behaves and delivers technically. Thanks for that! 

6 responses to “Buzzword – what a cool "Flash" web application

  1. Pingback: Silverword - a prototype in the making « Online Advertising, Web Development & General Rantings

  2. “I can only imagine what buzzword will be like when it is made to work in FLEX/AIR and is marketed by Adobe.”
    Buzzword is made in Flex and as I understand it they’re already fine-tuning an AIR version! I too was gobsmacked by the quality of this Flex app and now it’s owned by Adobe it will no doubt become the benchmark for RIAs.

    Will be very interested to see how you get on re-creating it with Silverlight. Especially when it comes to font display.

  3. Thanks Danny for the correction. I too am going to be interested in how it all turns out, right now it’s 5am in the morning on a sunday (no sleep yet) and im still trying to brainstorm a way to create the rich text editor that I need for this silverword application🙂 all fun and games!

  4. Pingback: darkessdesign.de» Blog Archive

  5. cool!

  6. I have just posted a Buzzword Style colour picker on my blog at :
    http://www.betadesigns.co.uk/index.php/blog/buzzword_kuler_style_color_picker/

    It also includes the ability to search Kuler for colour pallets.

Leave a Reply

