Project Silverlight 1.1 – Project Plan & Next steps


Sub Heading 4

It’s been a while since i updated the status of “project silverlight 1.1 – iTunes”, im sorry for that. The truth is im struggling to find time, im completely bogged down at work and it doesn’t help that were at our “end of financial year” stage.

Anyway i’ve reached a point now in this project where im comfortable to say the prototyping session exceeded my expectations and that we can indeed build an iTunes like application using Silverlight, ajax.asp.net and basic dhtml.

So here is a “project plan” i knocked up using MS Project. For those that arn’t versed in the whole “Project Planning” process, a “project plan” is basically a list of tasks that will need to be completed for the project to be deemed complete.

The “project plan” i knocked up is a very simple one, it’s based on a template that i generally use for all my web projects.

I called the project iTunes 2.0 and i phased the project, phase 1 being the first version of the application and a future phase 2 for sometime after this project.. (Phase 2 im thinking would be extending the iTunes 2.0 app to have more social tools and building in the “iTunes store feature”)

Anyway heres the high-level task’s for phase 1 of the project

main pic 1

“Analysis & Design” & “External Dependencies”

Analysis & Design – If you look at the sub tasks sitting under this task then it is self describing what this task is trying to accomplish. Basically everything i’ve done to date sit’s in this task (prototyping and high level analysis of the solution).

External Dependencies – This task captures the dependencies on third-party services that my iTunes project will potentially consume. I’ve analysed that for phase 1 the only 3rd party webservices i want to build into my solution will come from LastFM, YouTube. To be safe i’ve added some padding for implementing another 3rd party, one that i haven’t thought of yet.

main pic 2

“Build”

This task contains all the pieces that need to be developed for this application. The sub-tasks should be self explanatory.

 project plan for itunes like application 3

“Configuration Management”

 This task has to do with building all the deployment packages and scripts.

project plan for itunes like application 4

“Testing”

Testing is cruicial in any project, alot of people don’t see the benefit of doing it but i am always conscious of including this step in my project plan. In my opinion there can never be enough testing…

 project plan for itunes like application 5

“Conclusion”

So this is the 1st draft of the project plan. Over time i’ll probably make changes to it but generally it is complete with most of the tasks i want to build.

Over time i will also update this page to reflect the status of individual tasks.

“Next step”

Build begins on 9th August 2007 and goes for 55 man working days (5 day work weeks, 8 hour days)

24 responses to “Project Silverlight 1.1 – Project Plan & Next steps

  1. What application are you using to create that project plan? I like the task layout..

  2. Aahh MS Project.

  3. yeah i love ms project. It could do with a new user interface but it’s definetely useful for running projects with!

  4. Pingback: Janis

  5. Hi there, I found your web site by means of Google even as looking for a related topic, your site got here up, it seems to be great. I\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  6. Yes! Finally something about schmuck.

  7. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts.Thanks for sharing this information about Goa in the Monsoon I really enjoy reading on it.

  8. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educayive and engaging, and without a doubt, yyou ave
    hit the nail on thee head. The problem is something which not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.

    I’m very happy I stumbled across this during my search for something regarding this.

  9. You ought to be a part of a contest for one of
    the most usedful sites on the internet. I will highly recommend this website!

  10. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish.

    nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you wish
    be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly
    again since exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you
    shield this increase.

  11. Thank yyou foor sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will bbe waiting for your further write ups
    thanks once again.

  12. I’m not certain the place you are getting your information, but great topic.
    I must spend a while learning more or figuring out more.
    Thanks for great info I was searching for this info for my mission.

  13. I want to know how too make my browser load fast on reboot.
    Most of the time, I only need the web browser but it
    takes ages because of other programs loading.. . I hope to find a
    way to boot up and get web browser straight up. I have IE, and FireFoxx and I am running
    windows xp media edition.. . Any suggestions?.
    . Thanks..

  14. Is it possible to copy and paste news artticles for my blog or is that copyright infringement?

  15. Perasaan yang paling berbahaya adalah iri karena iri hati melahirkan kebencian dan kebencian akan membunuhmu perlahan.

  16. Thank you for some other wonderful post. The place else
    could anybody get that type of information in such an ideal manner of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m at the search for such info.

  17. Great beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your site, how could i
    subscribe for a blog website? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

  18. Fine way of explaining, and pleasant piece of writing to take data on the topic of my presentation subject matter, which i am going to convey in institution of higher education.

  19. Can be a Christian tshirt layout tournament website that’s been around for around
    per year. Royalties are offered by them to designers for every single shirt and bonuses each time a specific number of tops have been sold.
    Awaiting 3 months and never responding to your tries to make contact with them is anything to worry
    about.

  20. I might definitely subscribe to this excellent website!

  21. Work with people who believe in your dreams They will be encouraging you when fail

  22. It is actually a great and useful piece of information. I am satisfied that you
    shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this.

    Thanks for sharing.

  23. On account of element of insecurity about payment, lenders charge slightly high rate of interest in the borrowers.

    When you get accepted you’ve the benefit to take pleasure from the
    amount lodged strong inside your checking account on-the-spot.

  24. Sahabat sejati adalah orang yang terus menemani anda bahkan ketika anda tidak mempunyai apaapa.

Leave a Reply

