Showing off the power of Silverlight 2.0 – Windows Media Player redone


Sub Heading 5

A couple of months ago I recreated the Windows Media Player interface using Blend and Silverlight 1.1 alpha refresh, I wired up the UI so that it behaved similar to the actual application. It had a lot of code in the code behind that managed the resizing, it also made extensive use of the canvas control for layout positioning,  it had a lot of absolute positioning and funky logic to make it work when the page resized.

Today it’s time to rewrite that project in Silverlight 2.0 beta. The main reason why I’m doing this is because I feel that there isn’t enough examples of real world skinning using the new Silverlight 2.0 bits. There needs to be more samples out there for people to learn from, I for one would of loved to have more demo’s to digest in the early days of the Silverlight 2.0 beta release.

Anyway hope you guys can learn from this real world sample, I know I learnt heaps making it…

[read the article at my new home at Cynergy]

Cynergy Link to my blog posting for Windows Media Player 2

5 responses to “Showing off the power of Silverlight 2.0 – Windows Media Player redone

  1. I think this is brilliant, I love everything you do. And your blogging style is just spot on. Keep up the great work.

  2. Hi, I happend across your blog post by accident this morning and I have to admit that I’m loving your work. I’m a traditional graphic artist mainly dealing with Adobe work BUT you make me want to start learning blend and silverlight. Thankyou so much for the inspiration. This post was a real eye opener for me.

  3. Brilliant as usual, Cynergy are lucky to have you!

  4. The top blogs of the day.

  5. hi my name is ziad

Leave a Reply

